Home // Blogs // Careers at Peninsula Health Blog // Careers at Peninsula Health: Q&A with Alison Bobik

Careers at Peninsula Health: Q&A with Alison Bobik

Name: Alison Bobik

Job: Children’s Services Team Psychologist.

What does a typical day in your role involve?

My role involves supporting parents who identify concerns with their child’s development or behavior. I support families with a range of concerns including anxiety, sleep concerns, toileting issues and social development. A large part of my work involves providing parents with additional parenting tools. A typical day involves working individually with clients or supporting children in groups. I am currently facilitating a group for children who experience social anxiety. 

Why did you decide to pursue a career in this field?

I always wanted to be in a helping profession but I initially enrolled in a Health Promotion degree. I took Psychology as an elective and found I enjoyed the subjects even more than health. I ended up majoring in both!

What do you like best about your job?

Supporting parents in their toughest but most rewarding job!  I love hearing about the positive changes families are able to make, particularly during such an important stage of their child’s life. A child always makes me smile! 

It is an absolute privilege to work within a multi-disciplinary team and be able to meet the range of needs children present to our service. It is fantastic to acquire knowledge from highly skilled professionals from a range of disciplines including Speech Pathology and Occupational Therapy. 

What has been one memorable moment working in Children’s Services at Peninsula Health?

There have been a number over the years but the one that stands out the most occurred recently. After completing a block of therapy with a family they gave me some feedback advising that my input had been life changing. Wow, that’s why I do my job!

What do you like to do when you’re not working?

I love keeping fit. Cardio dance class is an absolute favourite of mine.  I also enjoy weight training and running.  Exploring country Victoria with my family is another love. If I can fit in a spot of antique shopping while I’m there well that’s always a plus!!